Introduction

 

Christine Barbe was born in Grenoble, France.

Graduated in Art and Cinema from Saint Charles University in Paris, Christine Barbe has traveled a lot. Notably in North Africa, the West Indies, Eastern Europe and North America. She emerged on the American art scene in the mid-1980s and was quickly recognized for her outdoor vision of the Californian culture. Her work at that time was characterized by snapshots of billiard rooms and pools lit by dazzling colors. This “Californian period” was followed by a New York transition, where she painted the chaos and isolation of the urban masses. It is her return to France that became a turning point towards a more graphic style, incorporating her first courses in engravings and other printing processes.

The works of Christine Barbe have been exhibited internationally: in the United States, Japan, France, Switzerland and the Netherlands. It is also part of permanent collections such as those of the Museum of Modern Art in Tokyo, the Museum of Contemporary Art of San José in the United States, the Coprim Foundation in Paris, the Contemporary Art Collection Novotel, the Asilah Contemporary Art Fund in Morocco, the Deutsch Foundation in Lausanne, Switzerland, to name a few of these.

Her work as a painter has benefited from numerous grants for creation, prizes, scholarships and residences: engraving Prize and drawing prize of the Fondation Uckermann, Grenoble (France), residence at the Wannsee Centre in Berlin (Germany), the exchange for the orientation of Plastic arts of Grenoble, the Moussem of Asilah residence (Morocco), the «Art Concil» scholarship of Santa Clara, California (USA). Christine Barbe was also a laureate of Art [ ] Collector, Paris, France.

Her work is marked by a characteristic combination of drawing and painting, mixed with photographic and printing techniques. Through this multiple work that evolves freely between photography and drawing, and where the elimination of the pictorial border between these disciplines had become one aim of her artistic practice, Christine Barbe explores imaginary of the places, and highlights the impact of the man who remodels the landscape and its territory.

Présentation

 

Christine Barbe est née à Grenoble, en France.

Diplômée en Art et Cinéma de l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne, Christine Barbe a beaucoup voyagé. Notamment en Afrique du Nord, aux Antilles, en Europe de l’Est et en Amérique du Nord. Elle a émergé sur la scène artistique américaine au milieu des années 1980 et a été rapidement reconnue pour son point de vue décalé sur la culture californienne. Son travail d’alors se caractérisait par des instantanés de salles de billard et de piscines éclairées par des couleurs éclatantes. Cette « période californienne » a été suivie d’une transition new-yorkaise, où elle a peint le chaos et l’isolement des masses urbaines. C’est son retour en France qui amorce un tournant vers un style plus graphique, incorporant ses premières formations en gravure et autres procédés d’impression.

Les œuvres de Christine Barbe ont été exposées internationalement : aux États- Unis, au Japon, en France, en Suisse et aux Pays-Bas. Elles font également partie de collections permanentes telles que celles du Musée d’art moderne de Tokyo, le Musée d’art contemporain de San José aux États-Unis, la Fondation Coprim à Paris, la collection d’art contemporain Novotel, le Fonds d’art contemporain Asilah au Maroc, la Fondation Deutsch à Lausanne, en Suisse, pour ne citer que celles-ci.

Son travail de peintre a bénéficié de nombreuses aides à la création, prix, bourses et résidences : Prix de la gravure et prix du dessin de la Fondation d’Uckermann, Grenoble (France), résidence au centre Wannsee à Berlin (Allemagne), la Bourse d’orientation des Arts plastiques de Grenoble, la résidence Moussem d’Asilah (Maroc), la bourse Art Council de Santa Clara, Californie (USA). Christine Barbe a également été lauréate d’Art [ ] Collector, Paris (France).

Son travail est marqué par une combinaison caractéristique de dessin et de peinture, mélangée à des techniques photographiques et d’impression. À travers cet œuvre multiple qui évolue librement entre la photographie et le dessin, où l’élimination de la frontière picturale entre ces disciplines se fait pratique artistique, Christine Barbe explore l’imaginaire des lieux et met en lumière l’impact de l’homme qui remodèle le paysage et son territoire.